The Most Important Metaphysical Question

Painting taken from this site.

(1) Did I appear in the world, or did the world appear to me?

Maybe the following questions could be of some help here:

Did I appear in a dream(world), or did a dream(world) appear to me?

Who am “I”?

I will not answer the question (1), for my answer would be of no importance to any person who might read this post. This is the problem which is crucial here: the focal point of metaphysical reflections.

I will only say that all kinds of experiments, so all the sciences, are pretty useless for the one who tries to solve this dilemma.

2 thoughts on “The Most Important Metaphysical Question

  1. I will only say that all kinds of experiments, so all the sciences, are pretty useless for the one who tries to solve this dilemma.

    Is there a dilemma? Only for 2D science. And there is no other science.
    Will we ever find out which existence is reality?

    Like

  2. Beobrigitte, I`m glad that you are here once more 🙂
    The dilemma is, in my opinion, of the utmost importance, and it might be described also in the form of two theses:
    I exist, and I am conscious because it happened on this planet that this particular, physical, human body appeared, and I could not exist without a body (so materialism or perhaps rather physicalism);
    or it just happened to me that I have this physical body, but I could lose it in any moment (idealism).
    What is more real, more permanent: the world or “I”?
    I could find an answer only “within” myself, no one else would be able to help me. (Un)fortunately, nevertheless, I will quote Ludwik Wittgenstein (“Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus”), for he brilliantly described what he meant by “I”. His words could shed some light on these deliberations: “(5.641) […] The I occurs in philosophy through the fact that the ‘world is my world’. The philosophical I is not the man, not the human body or the human soul of which psychology treats, but the metaphysical subject, the limit – not a part of the world” (translation by Ogden).

    Like

Leave a Reply

