An Anti-Lucid Dream

Photo by Piotr Recław (Sędzia Czesław), from his site.

Lucid dreaming often happens to me. In such situations I like to look for differences between a dreamworld and the walking life.

The idea that all my life is just a dream – or at least similar to other dreams – appeals a lot to me.

One day, while I was travelling by bus, I looked out of the window and thought:

the world is so real, all those people, cars, trees. Dreams are vague, bleak; objects and persons appearing in them could be compared rather with mock-ups than with real beings. The concept that life is but a dream, seems just awkward, anyway.

And I woke up.

2 thoughts on “An Anti-Lucid Dream

  1. I can day dream but I have never ever managed to lucid dream.

    Dreams are vague, bleak; objects and persons appearing in them could be compared rather with mock-ups than with real beings.

    In a dream (especially a nightmare) objects and persons feel REAL however “unrealistic” we view them when waking up.

    Are we ever waking up?

    Like

  2. Beobrigitte, thank you for the comment 🙂
    Persons I`ve encountered in a lot of my dreams seemed more or less “stiff”, there was often something unnatural about them, but objects usually looked pretty real, sometimes – as you mentioned – terribly or horribly real.

    It happened once to me that I`ve returned to the very same dreamworld about one year later.

    Lucid dreaming comes spontaneously to me. I had the most vivid lucid dream while I was missing someone badly. At that moment I realized that life is also a kind of dream, but I`m trying not to pay too much attention to this metaphor.

    If you ask, you are probably about to wake up, but, paradoxally, my answer would be of no value for you, and for anybody else.

    Like

Leave a Reply

